Reviews

Warm and friendly stopover - Rating 4/5

Stopped here for one night on a drive between Stirling and Port Appin.Hotel easy to find, very convenient and close to easy parking and other necessities (bank, food shop, restaurants).It is a little pub/restaurant/BnB so you get your key from the same person who is tending bar.Great breakfast, friendly hosts.Room was right over the bar but it wasn\'t too noisy.Would stay here again!

Reviewer:Marguerite Johnston | Sun 16th Aug 2015


Just great! - Rating 5/5

All you can wish for. Would definitely come back!

Reviewer:Els Bedert | Sat 15th Aug 2015


Crags Hotel , Callander - Rating 4/5

A lovely hotel, room was very clean and bed was a lovely 4 poster. The small bar was nice to relax in and the locals friendly and chatty. Breakfast was very nice, set us up nicely for a day in the surrounding hills.

Reviewer:David Forrest | Tue 11th Aug 2015


Warm welcome and excellent breakfast - Rating 4/5

Lovely cosy hotel with good bar and restaurant area.Made to feel very welcomed and staff friendly and helpful.Enjoyed our overnight stay and would visit again when exploring the area.

Reviewer:Glenys Brown | Mon 10th Aug 2015


Cosy crags experiece - Rating 3/5

Excellent serviceComfortable, clean room with nice decor.breakfast and evening meal very good. Location very convenient for all amenities and activities. The bar service excellent but lacked atmosphere. Would have been nicer to have had some music and a log fire. Would suggest music bingo or quiz?

Reviewer:Shirley Cain | Mon 10th Aug 2015


very nice! - Rating 5/5

The room was clean and comfortable, as the bathroom. Staff very kind, nice position and the price was good. We even had dinner and i really recommend the restaurant, it was the first haggis of my life and i still remember it!!! all very good!

Reviewer:Francesco Bosi | Wed 15th Jul 2015


Great location - Rating 4/5

We have stayed at The Crags several times and would certainly recommend it to others. Callander is a great location and The Crags is a friendly, comfortable hotel which serves up an excellent breakfast. Parking is a bit limited.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Jeeves | Sun 12th Jul 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Spacious room, comfortable bed and a fantastic breakfast. Staff were friendly and attentive too.

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma Smith| Wed 24th Jun 2015


great stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely clean room,friendly staff hearty breakfast, could not have had better over night accommodation. Will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Phyllis Mcneil | Wed 24th Jun 2015


young couple - one night - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel, room very clear and nice. Pub nice. Breakfast very good. People symphatics.

Reviewer:Samuel Bailleux | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Perfect choice - Rating 5/5

Checked into this well located hotel,didnt see ensuite in room ,reception informed me it was behind book case,my partner loved that feature.we found hotel clean,good room facilities and helpfully staff.will make a point of booking here next visit to Callander.i am fairly well travelled and have to say the breakfast was amoung the best I ever had.

Reviewer:Patrick Cannon | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Stay 17 to 20 June 2015- Rating 4/5

My name is Emmerson, one of the Stonebanks\' party. I enjoyed my stay. I found my room (6) clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast offered met all my requirements.The friendly atmosphere extended to the bar which was also popular with the local people. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the area. The house dog is a complete softy who does not pester diners for titbits.

Reviewer:Stonebank | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Chilled - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome led into a chilled out weekend, stayed for 2 nights in the 4 poster bedroom our 2nd visit to the Crags which says it all, it is consistent in its charm and hospitality, very dog friendly which is much appreciated, the local banter in the bar is worth a visit alone.

Reviewer:Connolly | Wed 3rd Jun 2015


Crags - Rating 4/5

A very friendly place to stay, and central.

Reviewer:John Dornan | Mon 11th May 2015


Great quick break - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights midweek as a quick break.Room clean and on suite excellent with seperate bath and shower. Meal in hotel first night was excellent and good value for money. Breakfast also very good with local produce. Will be returning as is ideal location for a few days R+R.

Reviewer:Mr. John Burnett | Wed 6th May 2015


Comfortable room, great service & food. - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff. Room was comfortable with lots of space. Food was very good. Great value for money.

Reviewer:Philip Levene | Tue 21st Apr 2015


Nice staff and cooking - Rating 4/5

Very nice staff, original furniture in the room and excellent cooking in the restaurant. Well located. Poor TV set (unable to use the remote controler) but free wifi available in our room.

Reviewer:Bertrand RIGAL | Fri 17th Apr 2015


Great hotel !!!!- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time at crags , four poster room recommended , had a nice time with friendly locals , and staff are the best !Also food is lovely and highly recommended , be back soon !!!

Reviewer:Kandy Shaw | Mon 6th Apr 2015


Another Great stay at the Crags - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night with my wife and dog.Always a warm welcome from Victoria and Alex and all their staff. Had a great nights sleep and breakfast was wonderful, as always. The Crags is very dog friendly and the locals in the bar make you feel like part of their circle of friends.While we were there,I booked two rooms for my sister as she stayed at the Crags with us before and also loves the friendliness and relaxed atmosphere. Well done to you all.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim Morrison | Thu 2nd Apr 2015


Great weakend - Rating 5/5

Great weakend very relaxing great food very welcome from everyone thank you will be back

Reviewer:Brian Girvan | Tue 24th Mar 2015


Christmas present - Rating 4/5

We stayed here last week in January.The staff were pleasant and the owner was nice and friendly.Our room was cosy and warm and the bed was comfortable but the pillows were too soft. Our evening meal was excellent as was the b\'fast. We had a great weekend in Callendar as it\'s been years since we visited, the scenery off the snow on the hills was picturesque, it was very cold but dry and sunny.We will return to your hotel again and recommend it to family and friends.

Reviewer:Craig | Thu 26th Feb 2015


2 Day Stay in Callander - Rating 4/5

Initially couldn\'t find the reception when we first came in- its at the bar on the LHS. Hotel bedroom No5 was large, lovely and warm and functional. Hotel food was a little slow being served but with good company and topped up glass was not problem. Food quality and portion size was good. Will come back and stay in the future.

Reviewer:Robertson | Wed 11th Feb 2015


stay at crags hotel - Rating 4/5

Was made welcome and even it was close to finishing in the restaurant getting a meal was no problem and nice. Room was clean and Quiet,good breakfast friendly staff

Reviewer:John Dawkins | Tue 27th Jan 2015


Great homely local hotel - Rating 5/5

The four poster bedroom had lots of space and a great en-suite bathroom. It is homely and cozy feeling and the owner Alex went out his way to provide us with anything we requested from breakfast room service to ordering in steaks from the local butcher! Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Marie Emslie | Thu 22nd Jan 2015


Very Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for a couple of nights over New Year and it was a very cosy small hotel with a good breakfast. If we stay in Callander again it will be the first place we call.

Reviewer:Stuart Ord | Fri 2nd Jan 2015


Fantastic stay! - Rating 5/5

Absolutely brilliant hotel in a lovely location. Everyone was so friendly! Food was top notch!!! We will certainly be back! Thank you so much to the Crags Hotel for making our holiday one to remember!

Reviewer:Miss. Amber Loughlin | Fri 28th Nov 2014


Great Hotel, lovely people - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay. Great room, good food and spending time in the front bar with the locals was very enjoyable.Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Gayle Mills | Sat 8th Nov 2014


lovely we place - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome,good food,great atmosphere,excellent staff,will definately be back.

Reviewer:Chris Whitelaw | Tue 4th Nov 2014


Night out with me Mam 2014 - Rating 5/5

Lovely quirky hotel, simple yet classic accomodation, spotlessly clean and excellent food in the resteraunt. Owner couldnt have been more friendly! Thanks we\'ll definately return if we\'re in Callander again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Butler | Thu 9th Oct 2014


Ryder Cup- Rating 3/5

The Crags is a small family run hotel. The room was clean with fresh towels daily. The food was basic but good, breakfast was well presented. Staff all pleasant and polite would stay again,

Reviewer:William Bowles | Tue 30th Sep 2014


Good Value for Money - Rating 4/5

We arrived late just after they had stopped serving Dinner, but the staff were more than happy to ask the Chef to stay on half an hour to accommodate us.We had a nice relaxed time in the bar after dinner.The room was quite basic, but for the price we paid it was more than adequate and good value for money.Breakfast was good.All the staff were very friendly and helpful.We would not hesitate to stay at The Crags Hotel in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Foxcroft | Mon 29th Sep 2014


Fishing! - Rating 4/5

Stayed in the Crag\'s Hotel for two nights to do some pike fishing with a local guide.Comfy hotel, fine food and service. Very clean. Callander is a quaint little town with plenty to see and do in the out of doors.

Reviewer:Ms. Laura Foster | Tue 16th Sep 2014


I recommend - Rating 4/5

good welcomegood pub and restaurantroom nbr8 very cute

Reviewer:Didier Challine | Thu 11th Sep 2014


Unique Friendly Hotel - Rating 5/5

The Crags is a warm friendly hotel whose bar we have frequently visited after attending the various sessions of the Callander Poetry Festival.This was the first time that we stayed in the hotel which is centrally located, ideal for our purposes. The rooms were wonderfully quirky as befitted the building and there is a small guest's car park around the back. The staff were helpful and the food was cooked "just right". It is also excellent value for money. A few of the hotels get booked up at this time of year because of the festival and other events so we intend to book early next year in the hope that we can stay in The Crags again.

Reviewer:Kemal Houghton | Mon 8th Sep 2014


Very friendly Hotel - Rating 4/5

A quirky and very friendly little Hotel. Everything clean and nothing too much bother for the owner.Family room was spacious for our party of three adults who each had their own bed. Breakfast was good and as always staff very friendly.

Reviewer:Isobel Duncan | Sun 7th Sep 2014


callander so beautyfull - Rating 5/5

Alex and Victoria are really nice fellowsVisit the Lake Katerine with a thougt forSir Walter Scott

Reviewer:Jean Louis Desnos | Tue 2nd Sep 2014


Perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Crags Hotel at end of June for 3 nights to attend a family wedding. The minute we arrived I knew I'd made the right choice. The staff were so friendly and welcoming just made us feel quite at home. We were so hungry as we'd travelled over seas and the restaurant was nearly at its closing time, that wasn't a problem for the staff, we had a delicious meal. Our en suite room was at the back of the Hotel it was beautifully kept and spotless. Breakfast was a treat the food was excellent and we did sit longer so we could admire all the art work which hung perfectly on the walls. The local shop owners were kind, friendly and very attentive. Most enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Felice Walsh | Tue 2nd Sep 2014


:) - Rating 5/5

The staff was very nice. The place was really comfortable, the location was perfect. Even the breakfast was very good. It is a perfect place to have a rest.

Reviewer:Alessio Lu | Thu 28th Aug 2014


Jist loch haem - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived the reception was warm and welcoming. Quirky rooms with lots of character, food was delicious. All the staff were polite and courteous, nothing was every too much trouble. Thanks again Alex and team.

Reviewer:Scott Baty | Sat 23rd Aug 2014


lovely place - Rating 5/5

All staff very friendly to locals and holiday makers alike. Interesting building and very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.Great value.Tasty menu.

Reviewer:Robbie Macaulay | Mon 18th Aug 2014


Wonderful People! - Rating 5/5

What a friendly place!We felt like we were family guests rather than tourists.Nice, clean facilities in a beautiful part of Scotland.

Reviewer:John Brennan | Sun 17th Aug 2014


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

Nice and clean room. Very good breakfast. Friendly Stuff.

Reviewer:Nils Kunkel | Sun 17th Aug 2014


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable room

Reviewer:Diane Roberts | Fri 15th Aug 2014


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

What a fabulous stay we had...from the warmest of welcomes from Vikki to the welcome from the locals in the bar. What great people and what great humour. We never stopped laughing...oh we did...when we ate in the reataurant both nights and had food that was imaginately created with subtle flavours and beautifully presented...along with friendly professional service. We also slept in one of the comfiest beds on our trip. Outstanding!!

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon Roberts | Wed 13th Aug 2014


Good place to stay - Rating 4/5

Typical, good price, good breakfast, nice room, calm. Fans of the Rolling Stones, do not miss the original pictures in the stairway !

Reviewer:Hugues Giovannini | Fri 8th Aug 2014


A nice surprise - Rating 5/5

One of the most fabulous hotels during our round-trip! We loved the atmosphere, the decoration in the rooms and also the very friendly service.

Reviewer:Rudolf Kehrer | Mon 4th Aug 2014


Weekend away - Rating 4/5

Very nice place to stay. Nice and polite service. Thank You for having us .

Reviewer:Kasia Cyrnal | Sat 26th Jul 2014


The Crags Hotel Callander - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable hotel, very friendly staff, good food. Will be back.

Reviewer:Roy Acheson | Wed 23rd Jul 2014


Cracking small hotel - Rating 4/5

Great little hotel, friendly staff and nice breakfast. Only downside I would say was the curtains in our room were particularly thin and ill fitting, not the best after a heavy night at a nearby wedding. I would certainly use this hotel again

Reviewer:Rob Strachan | Sun 13th Jul 2014


Lovely weekend - Rating 4/5

My husband and I stayed Friday and Saturday night (4/07/14 &05/07/14) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was absolutely first rate as were the staff especially Anna, what a hard working girl.The room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely return.

Reviewer:Sheila Park | Mon 7th Jul 2014


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

The Crags hotel was a gem, the lively bar was friendly with the locals and their banter and the dinner was superb in it's quality.

Reviewer:Michael Churchill | Wed 2nd Jul 2014


Weekend away- Rating 4/5

The crags hotel was lovely. We had a huge family room which was brilliant.Dinner and breakfast were both lovely too.I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Reviewer:Karen Rodgers | Mon 30th Jun 2014


Crags hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay, comfortable and wecomoing

Reviewer:Neil Spicer | Sun 15th Jun 2014


Fri night stay - Rating 4/5

We are a family with two young adult daughters. We stayed on Fri night. My spouse and i stayed in room 8, which was very nice. The sounds from the bar during the football were not even a bother.the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good, though I would have enjoyed th option of beans with the he breakfast. A pleasant experience overall.

Reviewer:Mr. Todd Mcglauchlin | Sat 14th Jun 2014


Great location - Rating 4/5

Nice and clean. Great location and very friendly staff. Would return and recommend to others

Reviewer:Davidson | Mon 26th May 2014


Nice overnight stay - Rating 4/5

We arrived late after a wedding on a Saturday night (around midnight). We were seen to straight away with our room key and directions to our second floor room by a very friendly lady (I think it was the owner). The bar was noisy until around 1.15am with a frequently loud bang (possibly the front door). It wasn't an issue for us as we were still up anyway and it was a Saturday night in an Inn so not a surprise. Breakfast was lovely, and was served by the same lovely owner, who must survive on very little sleep and is still smiling! We got parked right outside, our room was clean and bed comfy. Had everything we needed for an overnight. Our room was very warm although the hearing wasn't on, so we slept with the window open. Hotel was easy to find, very relaxed atmosphere and we would stay again

Reviewer:Dawn Birse | Fri 23rd May 2014


Local flavour - Rating 4/5

Centrally located with very friendly staff.great food cooked by the Chef. Don't expect luxury but definitely worth staying.

Reviewer:Ewa Sliwinska | Thu 22nd May 2014


The Crags Hotel - Rating 5/5

Another excellent stay at the Crags Hotel, thanks to all the staff and friendly owners. This is a little gem of a hotel which is welcoming, clean and tidy with good food. The bar is very reasonably priced and you are always made welcome. Well done and thank you.

Reviewer:John McFarlane | Thu 15th May 2014


The Crags Hotel - Rating 4/5

This is an excellent run small hoteI suitable for all types of people visiting Calander. I received a warm welcome from friendly staff and locals and found my room clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Reviewer:John McFarlane | Thu 1st May 2014


Fab one night stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay at the Crags , the family suite was very spacious and having a separate room for kids was great, Breakfast was lovely too, the only niggle was we had to slam the room door very hard for it to be closed securely.

Reviewer:Deborah Eddington | Mon 21st Apr 2014


Extra Information

  • Disabled
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian

Full payment will be taken at time of booking. The total value of the booking may be charged if changes/cancellations are made with less than 7 days notice.Full refund will be made if cancellation is provided with 7 days notice prior to scheduled stay.